What I am reading at the moment

I love reading. It is one of my favourite things to do. Good thing then that there are so many good knitting books and magazines available.

Let me share the two books and magazine I am reading at the moment.

The first is a book I pick up in my library called How to use, adapt and design knitting pattern. I picked it up because I would really love to design garments but have been intimidated by sizing. I am about half way through this book and have found it takes an interesting approach by referring to sewing techniques and giving examples illustrated by fabric. I think it is well written and I will certainly photocopy a few pages for my own resources.

The second book only arrive on Wednesday so I have not had much chance to read a lot of it. But I have heard a lot of good things about it and flipping through it gives the impression of being worth the expense. It is the Knitted Cable Sourcebook by Norah Gaughan. There are certainly some interesting cables in there and the photography is very good. I also like the patterns and think I might make one or two (when I find the time that is).

The last is a magazine which also arrive on Wednesday but which I have nearly gone through completely and I like it a lot. It is the second volume of Making and I was sent it by a friend with a really cute tote. It is a great mixture of knitting, embroidery and other craft patterns as well as articles. And (usually I am not much for alcohol) but the cocktail recipe in it sounds very intriguing, unfortunately we have no brandy.

Do you have a favourite knitting book?

Leave a Reply

