Colourful Charity Cowl KAL – Details

colourful

After sharing why I am doing this KAL, let’s get down to the details.

The featured pattern is the Colourful Cowl which will be published with the start of the KAL on February, 1. The KAL will run to the end of the month and all proceeds will be donated to Nephropkids Nordrhein-Westphalen e.V. (learn more about the charity in my first post about the KAL here).

I love colour and if you look at my designs so far, I also seem to have a love for chevrons and triangular shapes. Therefore, it is not surprising that the Colourful Cowl features both. I picked up the amazing Stein Fine Wool yarn at Yarndale last year and just knew I wanted to design something that would feature all three colours. I love how the colours work together to make a very unique accessory and one that will certainly bring some colour to the remaining winter month.

20170102_091856

The Colourful Cowl is a fun stranded colourwork project using three different colours. To help choose colours, as part of the KAL, the pattern will include a guide on colour selection as well as a list with tips and tricks to help when working in stranded colourwork.

The cowl features a two-coloured chevron pattern and 1×1 rib in a contrast colour. Designed to fit around your neck once, the pattern can be adapted to make a longer version. I will provide some instructions to on how to calculate how many stiches to cast on for a bigger version. As usual the pattern will be available in English and German and also include a print-friendly version.

The KAL will run in the Annika Andrea Knits Ravelry group and you can also post pictures with the hashtag #colourfulcharitycowlKAL on Instagram.

I am really excited about this knit-along, not only because it is the first I am organising but also because it is a creative way for me to remember my dad and do some good. Thank you for your support!

 

 

Leave a Reply

