The End of the Colourful Cowl KAL

Today is the last day of my Colourful Cowl KAL and I just wanted to tell you a bit about how it went. I really hope this doesn’t come across as a rant. I really just want to share with you what I have learned from organising my first KAL and lessons I learned for the future. The KAL didn’t go as  I had hoped but that doesn’t mean I am totally disappointed.

20170102_090158

I had honestly hoped to be able to be able to donate more than the £12 I have made but that wasn’t meant to be and I think that it is mostly my own fault for not planning this better and for the unfortunate coincidence of February also being the month I started a new job. My new job took up most of my energy and left me very listless in terms of getting involved and talking to people as that is what I am doing all day at work. For this reasons I was a lot less engaged than I had intended to be.

However, I don’t see this as a failure but a lesson learned. Namely, that KALs are not something I can just improvise. It requires a lot of planning which I didn’t do all the way through the end. A few things I would do differently next time.

  1. Plan it out all the way.
  2. Try a different platform for a KAL as my Ravelry group didn’t really work for me
  3. Organise it with someone else as a team to be able to support each other
  4. Offer a discount for the pattern or a prize at the end of the KAL
  5. Ensure I am in contact with participants weekly
  6. Be a lot more engaged

I am sure upon further reflection I will have a few more ideas about how to do this differently but for now this is a good place to start.

I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you to the everyone who brought the pattern. It means a lot to me. I will donate the money in the next few days and am sure that Nephrokids e.V. will gladly accept the money to support children with chronic kidney diseases.

Leave a Reply

