To Knit to – March edition

For this month’s to knit to suggestions I am featuring a book that I enjoyed so much I read it in about 2 days and two of my all time favourite feel good films. Neither are new films but I love them a lot and they make for excellent knitting entertainment.  

The Book – The Bees

15820580_10211804594810797_650208824_o

This book was suggested by @arabianknits a few weeks ago. I was very intrigued by it and couldn’t resist buying it earlier this year.  The book by Laline Paull tells the story Flora 717, a bee. We follow her live from birth to death and experience her difference from other bees and the problems in the hive. It is really cleverly written and the characterisation is brilliant. Laline Paull is extremely talented and her ability to give Flora 717 human characteristics without ever letting the reader forget that she is a bee is an incredible feast. I rooted for Flora throughout the book and was honestly absolutely spellbound to the end.

The Film (no.1) – The Princess Bride

7116aa2zkrl-_sy445_

If you like Fantasy stories than you probably know of the Princess Bride. It is a film based on a book by the same title (which I am actually reading at the moment) and includes one of the best cast of characters in any fantasy film I know including a farm boy, a six fingered villain, a beautiful girl and a pirate. The story includes, amongst other things ‘Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautiful ladies. Snakes. Spiders. Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truth. Passion. Miracles.’ And honestly, what more could you possibly want from a story? Even if you are sceptical now, so far everyone I have shown this film to was absolutely taken by it. Really, try it or re-watch it if you have already seen it.

The Film (no. 2) – Strictly Ballroom

7a217-tmp

I first watched this film nearly 9 years ago when I came back from New Zealand and have watched it again and again since. I myself have no talent for dancing but can certainly admire it. Strictly Ballroom is one of those films that show dancing as a way of self-expression and creativity (much like knitting) despite attempts to make it into something regulated and restricted. The film was directed by Baz Luhrman and describing it as a rom-com would probably fit as it does include the story line of ugly girl turns pretty. What I like about it most though is the funny way it plays with stereotypes seemingly making fun of them but also somehow embracing them. It might not be everyone’s cup of tea but I would suggest to give it a try.

 

 

Leave a Reply

