New Pattern – Foglia

I will be realising my new pattern the Foglia Shawl on Saturday. The shawl has been a long time in the making and I am very excited about it. The designing process of this pattern is different than all the others I have done so far and I am very happy it even got finished.

20170122_112310

Usually I plan out a design first, do my maths and then do the knitting but with Foglia it was a much more spontanous process. I started with just the pink yarn but after a good bit of knitting with it I wasn’t sure where to go with the design. After a little deliberation I order grey yarn as well and decided to make this a two-coloured design.

Once I received the yarn, which is Blacker Yarns Tamar by the way, I stared of with a lovely striped garter stitch section which I really enjoyed knitting. Afterwards I have originally started with a pink section but was very unhappy with it. I changed it to a grey section and also changed the stitch pattern to a beautiful leaf yarn pattern.

20170108_154746

It took ages to work out how that would fit into the increases which are worked every row, this allows for a crescent shape without working short rows, but in the end I managed to work it out to my satisfaction. The lace pattern is fairly easy to remember and the pattern has both written and charted instructions that are straight forward to follow.

20170326_165930

Next I went with a pink border section that I also did and undid a few times because I knew I wanted to have triangles featured but it took me a while to figure out how to get the effect I wanted. In the end it was a simple combination of stockinette and garter stitch that did it. This section also includes written and charted instructions.

The shawl is finished off with a nice and crisp i-cord bind off. For me it was the first time working this cast off and I really like the way it looks. It makes for an incredibly neat cast off edge and is a lot easier then I thought it was. The pattern includes the instructions but if you need a visual aid, I can recommend this tutorial.

20170326_163820

The pattern includes stitch counts throughout which should help when following it. I think the pattern might be best be knitted if you have a little experience but I don’t see why a newbie knitter who wants a bit of a challenge and learn new skills shouldn’t be able to handle it. Also, if there are any queries I am happy to help, just send me a message.

Wow, this was a lot longer intro to my upcoming pattern than I thought. Well, what can I say, I am really proud of this one and absolutely love it. I just hope you will like it too.

 

Leave a Reply

